class #28

     Today, our group met to further discuss our preliminary findings.  No one is really having any trouble and everything is running smoothly as far as I can tell.  It is a little hard for me to focus though with all of my other classes ending around the same time as this one along with all of the studying I have to do for my finals.  Oh, and not to mention the Saint Louis Blues playoff push in the National Hockey League (NHL) Stanley Cup Playoffs is in full swing along with my beloved  “second home town” team, the Oklahoma City Thunder’s run at a National Basketball Association (NBA) Championship. 

     Anyways my part/section of our social media plan/project/paper is researching Taco Bell’s competitor’s activity on social media.  In this section, I will be selecting three major organizations/brands (Burger King, McDonald’s, and Wendy’s) that compete with our brand and describe what they are doing to listen to and/or engage with audiences through social media.  As stated in the project instructions “this section is very similar to section three and should be structured along similar lines.” The key difference is that my analysis in this section is once again focused on the social media activities of the competition rather than Taco Bell’s selected brand/organization.  I have so far found it easiest to research McDonald’s.  Naturally, this did not come as a surprise to me because like I stated in my last blog post, they are clearly the most dominant force in the fast food industry.

8 thoughts on “class #28

  1. Hey this is Bobby, and first off I would just like to say that I am a huge fan of Taco Bell. It seems to me that you and your group know what you all are doing with your assignment. I think the competitors are excellent to research on because those three fast food restaurants are very popular for the audience not because they like the food but in terms of Taco Bell’s involvement within social media.

    If I can make a suggestion, if you have not already, you might want to go on Taco Bell’s Flickr to check out some of the photos that are on its account because I have been there before, and I was shocked.

    Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I don’t believe that I or anyone else in my group even thought about Flickr! I’m going to go there right now and check it out. I don’t even think that we thought that Taco Bell had a Flickr account. Well, at least I didn’t.

  2. Let’s Go Blues! i shall begin with that and also I feel like the competitors section would be an interesting one for TacoBell. I think BurgerKing and Jack in the Box would be good ones to review. I think Jack in the Box and Taco Bell have similar audiences and their commericals are usually targeted towards college aged people.

    • That game last night was awesome! I’m sure you saw it as well! Anyways, I am researching three of the four of our competitors (Wendy’s, McDonald’s, and Burger King). Ciera is actually researching Jack in the Box, which I agree is probably going to the closest to Taco Bell.

  3. Hey Zach, my team meeting sounds much like yours. We shared our information and decided who was going to cover the rest of the project. I know just what you mean when you talk about the STL blues playoffs. In hindsight I should have picked to do the competitors of Starbucks. This would have been a lot easier than defining the target audience or the objectives. Although research is easy to complete, I’ve found it harder to collaborate with my team mates .

    • Researching Starbuck’s competition would have been interesting since Starbuk’s is probably at the top of the food chain in their industry, unlike Taco Bell who is in direct competition with the king of the fast food industry, McDonald’s.

  4. You’re a Blues fan?! I never would have guessed haha. All kidding aside I think that adding Wendy’s to the competitor list was a good idea. While Wendy’s might be considered a bit more “upscale” than Taco Bell, they still share the “open late” audience. I know you’re going to rock this section, so good luck on your other projects.

    • As I sit here writing this comment during the first intermission of the Blues game I’d like to thank you for the compliment and the words of encouragement! I know your part of the plan will be solid as well.

Leave a Reply

